Christian Brothers University Recognizes Lasallian Faculty and Fellows

Melody Nabors (left) and CBU President, Dr. John Smarrelli Jr.

Christian Brothers University (CBU) honors select faculty and students for demonstrating Lasallian characteristics.

Melody Nabors, CBU’s Registrar, was honored with the Distinguished Lasallian Educator Award at their annual convocation in August.

This award — the highest award presented to one CBU faculty member annually — honors a CBU educator, nominated by his/her peers, who exemplifies in the twenty-first century the ideals of St. John Baptist de La Salle, who lived in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.

Recipients of the award must have the following four qualifications: be a Lasallian educator for at least five years; be actively involved in fostering the mission of Lasallian education; exemplify in his/her life the spirit of St. John Baptist de La Salle; and demonstrate an enthusiasm for the Lasallian tradition.

CBU also announced the new members of their Lasallian Fellows program including John Blount (Religion and Philosophy), Lauryn Murphy (Biology), Taylor Tartera (English for Corporate Communication), Cameron Volpe (Biology), and William Zachary (Chemical Engineering). These students were chosen to represent the 2013 class of fellows based upon their commitment to scholarship, leadership, and service. Each fellow, nominated by a member of the faculty and staff, is awarded $5,000 from CBU Trustee Joyce A. Mollerup and her husband Bob Buckman as a means of continuing their work in the community.

Add your comment: